Latest Events


  • June 17, 2017
  • 8:00 PM
  • Tanghalang Nicanor Abelardo (Main Theater CCP)
  • Sounds Of Masters

A Musical Treat Will Unfold Soon!  To Celebrate The Spectacular Present And Promising Future Of The Manila Philharmonic Orchestra, A Concert Billed “Sound Of Masters” Is Set To Take Center Stage On June 17, 2017, 8PM At The Tanghalang Nicanor Abelardo Of The Cultural Center Of The Philippines. 

This Concert Will Mark The Brightest Milestone Of MPO, Reaching Its 20th Year Of Great Musical Performances Both Locally And Internationally.  For This Important Event, MPO Could Not Think Of A Perfect Guest Than Romanian Violinist Alexandru Tumescu Who Performed With The Orchestra Back In _______. 

In His Biography, Alexandru Tumescu Is Described As An Artist Who Has Undertaken The Mission Of Demonstrating That Classical Music Is A Window Towards Harmony Between People, A World Open To Everyone, And That All Deserve The Chance To Explore It.  An Artist Who Can Marry Two Concepts: A Man And His Violin And When Alexandru Is The Man And Stradivarius Is His Violion, It Is Enough To Create A New-born Universe  inhabited By Fascinating Creatures Made Out Of Sonorous Colour And Density, All Destined To Cast A Spell Upon The Public.

This Quality Of Tomescu Embodies What The Orchestra Has Been Working On For Years And That Is To “bridge” The Gap Between The Orchestra And The Audience-not Just Playing But Cultivating A Dialog With The Audience.  Here’s What’s Written About Tomescu By David Larsen Of Metro Magazine, Noua Zeelandă, “I Expected An Evening Of Champagne Bubbles. Tomescu Serves Up Whiskey.”

 MPO Music Director Rodel Colmenar Is Very Excited To Share MPO With Alexandru Tumescu.  This Performance Will Be MPO’s Gift To The Musicians Who Have Remained Loyal, To The Public And Most Especially To Our Supporters Throughout The Years.  This Orchestra Is Born Out Of Passion And Has Grown With Deep Musicality, Generosity Of Spirit And Incomparable Commitment To Playing That Enable MPO To Deliver A Unity Of Sound That Is Distinctly Unique And Distinguishable.

Relive The Greatness Of The Masters And Be Told Of The Story That Lies Behind Each Composition. This Concert Will Definitely Be True To Its Title “Sound Of Masters”. The Program Includes Festive Overture Opus 96 By Dmitri Shostakovich, Violin Concerto No. 2 In B Minor Opus 7 By Nicolo Paganini And Symphony No. 5 In E Minor Opus 64 By Tschaikovsky.

To The Brightest Of Years To Come! Let This Be Your Best Musical Experience.  You May Call The Ticket World At  891-999 Or MPO Office At 09175478787 For Ticket Inquiries.


contact us